We’re upgrading our system Everything you need to know about your new-look account
We’re on a mission to make managing your energy as easy as possible. That’s why we’re upgrading our system and giving you access to a new-look account.
Millions of customers have already been moved over to our new system. There’s nothing you need to do and you’ll hear from us by letter or email when you’re up and running.
We’ll take care of everything. Your energy supply, tariff and payment details will all stay the same.
Can I still access my online account?
We’ll contact you on the day we move you over. After that, simply use your existing online login details to access your new online account. You don’t need to sign up again.
And you’ll still be able to see your previous energy statements and other important information from your old account, like your billing history.
If you pay by fixed Direct Debit, it can take up to 5 working days for your payment details to show in your new account. For variable Direct Debits, it may take up to 21 working days.
What happens to my old online account?
When we’ve moved you over to our new system, you’ll be able to access information about your energy in your new account. To manage any Home Services you may have with us, you can continue to use your existing account. The login details are the same.
What if I can’t see all my details in my new account?
It can take up to 7 days to transfer your information across, so please bear with us if some details aren’t available straight away.
We’re working hard to upgrade what’s available in your new account, but for now you won’t be able to view meter readings or payment history from our old system.
What if I can’t access my new online account?
What if I don’t have an online account?
Registering for an online account is easy and it only takes a few minutes. But if you’d prefer not to, you can continue to manage your account in the same way you have until now.
Can I still use the British Gas app?
After we’ve moved you onto our new system, you won’t be able to view your energy account or MyEnergy details in the ‘British Gas’ app. But you’ll still need to use it to manage any Home Services you have with us.
To continue managing your energy account, please download our new ‘British Gas Energy’ app, or go to your new online account.
Will my Customer Account Number change?
Yes, you’ll get a brand-new Customer Account Number when we transfer you over to our new system. It’s the one that starts with the letter A. Please remember to use this new number whenever you need to contact us.
Where to find your new Customer Account Number:
- On your new online account homepage.
- On the letter or email we sent letting you know we’ve switched you over.
- On any bills, letters, or emails we’ve sent since moving you onto our new system.
Will my energy supply be affected?
No, moving over to our new system won’t have any impact on your energy supply.
Will my tariff change?
No, nothing about your tariff, energy prices or renewal date will change when we move you over to our new system.
What happens to my balance?
Whether you’re in credit or debit, we’ll transfer your balance to your new account.
If you pay by variable Direct Debit
You shouldn’t have an outstanding balance. But if your last Direct Debit failed for any reason, we’ll make one more attempt to take payment. If that attempt fails, we’ll transfer your balance to your new account.
If you pay when you receive your bill
If your account is in credit when we move you over to our new system, we’ll send you a cheque for the amount we owe you.
If you’ve yet to pay your last bill when we move you over to our new system, or it wasn’t paid in full, we’ll transfer your outstanding balance to your new account and add it to your next bill. If you receive quarterly bills, please be aware this may mean you’ll be charged for up to 6 months of energy use on your next bill.
What if I’m on the Priority Services Register?
Nothing will change when we’ve moved you onto our new system. We’ll continue to treat you as a priority customer.
About the Priority Services Register
If you're vulnerable or could be at risk if there’s a problem with your energy supply, join the Priority Services Register. It’s free and gives you helpful services like planned power cut warnings, bills and statements in different formats and free gas safety checks. Learn more.
Billing and payments
What happens with my Direct Debit?
We’ll securely move your Direct Debit across to your new account. You won’t need to do anything, and your payments will continue to appear as ‘British Gas’ on your bank statements.
If you pay by fixed Direct Debit
It can take up to 5 working days for your Direct Debit details to show in your new online account. In the meantime, you’ll see the following message: “We are working to transfer your payment details to our new system. Please check back later”.
It’ll take 5 working days for your Direct Debit details to show in the ‘British Gas Energy’ app too.
If you pay by variable Direct Debit
It can take up to 21 working days for your Direct Debit details to show in your new online account. In the meantime, you’ll see the following message: “We are working to transfer your payment details to our new system. Please check back later”.
It’ll take 21 working days for your Direct Debit details to show in the ‘British Gas Energy’ app too.
Your bank may be in touch to let you know we’ve moved your Direct Debit onto our new system. But nothing about your Direct Debit payments will change.
How are estimated bills calculated?
All energy suppliers, including us, estimate bills using previous meter readings from the address. The more previous readings we have, the more accurate your estimated bills are likely to be.
When you send us meter readings, we update your bills to only charge you for the energy you’ve used.
I usually get one combined bill for gas and electricity – why have I got two bills?
When we move your account onto our new system, we close your old account, and send you one last bill from our old system. This will fall in line with your normal billing cycle. If we haven’t had meter readings from you, we’ll use estimated readings to calculate this bill. Usually, the readings will be generated at the same time, and you’ll get one bill as usual. But sometimes when we move an account across to our new system, one reading is generated sooner than the other. And this causes two separate bills to be sent.
We’re sorry for any inconvenience, and this is the only time we’ll send you separate energy bills. Once your account is on our new system, you’ll automatically start getting combined bills again.
Meters and meter readings
Will my smart meter work on the new system?
Yes, moving onto our new system won’t have any impact on smart meters. If your smart meter was working correctly before the switch, it’ll continue to work afterwards.
How do I submit a meter reading?
If you’re unable to submit a meter reading for any reason, contact us on Live Chat, where we’re open Monday to Friday 8am-8pm, Saturday 9am-5pm.
What if I have a problem with my meter?
Let us know and we’ll be happy to help. Contact us on Live Chat, where we’re open Monday to Friday 8am-8pm, Saturday 9am-5pm.
If it’s an emergency, click here for details of who to call. Emergency assistance is available 24/7.
What happens if I’m moving home?
Please let us know so we can update your energy account. The easiest way to contact us is on Live Chat, where we’re open Monday to Friday 8am-8pm, Saturday 9am-5pm.
What happens if I switch suppliers?
We’d love for you to stay with us, especially with all the ways we’re making managing your energy easier. So if you’re thinking of switching, why not log in to your online account to see if we have a different tariff which might suit you better.
But if you do want to switch to another supplier, contact them and they’ll sort everything out for you. Just be aware that the tariff you’re on now may include exit fees. You can find tariff and exit fee information by logging into your online account
If you do switch suppliers, you don’t need to cancel your Direct Debit with us. We’ll do this for you automatically after you switch and have paid any outstanding balance on your account.